Skip to content

Fall Reading

October 31, 2010

Chilly and dark evenings are upon us. The transition to shorter days is slowly settling in with us.  Since it’s harder to play outside in the dark, this could mean that the tv or video games come on.  It’s also a good time to extend before-bed reading, talk books, and read together.

I started putting my thoughts on reading, especially with reluctant or diffident readers, but my thoughts were not coming together as smoothly and coherently as I hoped.  So instead of writing, I poured more coffee and started reading.  In my overflowing in box,  I opened an LD Online newsletter caught my eye.  As I read last week’s weekly digest, I first read the article on using e-readers. Good stuff in there for our tech-savvy kids that’s worth checking out.  But what really drew me in was an article by Rick Riordan. Yes, THE guy that most of the male reader ages 8-14 I know, are talking about.

I’ve read bits and pieces of all his books and love that he ties all the greatest stuff of mythology into such compelling books.  I love that so many authors and publishers give readers more info on the person who is behind the book – their craft, their childhood experiences, their interests outside writing, the points worth discussing as you read the book.  It’s another added bonus of the internet – ways to make reading, books and authors come alive to young readers.

I learned so much about Rick this morning.  He’s a teacher too! He plays video games with his kids. Grover is his favorite character.  His kids write, too. He’s doing a live webcast this Tuesday at 14:00 GMT  (http://www.rickriordanvirtuallylive.co.uk/) that I will try to catch, hopefully, with some young readers.  I’ve learned enough that’s it’s motivated me to actually finish the Percy series. Isn’t that what a love of reading is about? Enticing, sustaining attention, wanting more? Rick’s got it all going!

Read Rick’s   Four Ways to get ADHS Kids to Read in the October 15 Wall Street Journal. I humbly confess that he more eloquently and succinctly put into words what I aspired to share.  Even if your young reader is not ADHD, Rick sums up the key tips reading teachers and bibliophiles  know help turn kids on to a life of reading.

Now, back to Percy before the Trick-or-Treaters arrive!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

